Featured Banner Image

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Congratulations Kelcey Williams and Michael Slack

Michael Slack'sscreenprint Electric Slides and Kelcey William's screenprint Martic de Ripetizione
Congratulations Michael Slack (BFA 2015) and Kelcey Williams (BFA 2015) for being selected for the 2015 55th Annual Voertman Student Art Competition.  Michael also one an award with a $250 gift certificate for the  Voertman's store.  Congratulations!

55th Annual Voertman Student Art Competition
Apr 9, 2015 - Apr 25, 2015

The annual Voertman Competition at CVAD is a time-honored celebration of artistic achievement and promise. The Voertman Competition is a juried exhibition, displayed in the UNT Art Gallery and open to all currently enrolled CVAD students. Started in 1960 by Mr. Paul Voertman, founder of Voertman’s store, the exhibition is juried each year by an accomplished arts professional and provides students with real-world experience. Since 1960, thousands of artists have exhibited their works and hundreds have received cash prizes. Today, prizes are sponsored by Voertman’s store as well as individual donors and CVAD programs and are awarded by the juror at his or her discretion.

ABOUT THE JUROR:  Prior to joining the TCU Art Galleries as Curator in August 2014, Sara-Jayne Parsons was the Exhibitions Curator at the Bluecoat in Liverpool, United Kingdom, where for six years she produced a diverse contemporary exhibition program. In that time she was also a collaborative member of the curatorial team for the Liverpool Biennial, the largest international contemporary art festival in the UK. Parsons has worked directly with many international artists to develop exhibitions and produce new works, including Ayman Baalbaki, Sonia Boyce, Gina Czarnecki, Hew Locke, Janek Schaefer, Emily Speed and Laura El-Tantawy. She has also written for various contemporary art magazines including Source and Art Monthly Australia. Sara-Jayne Parsons received an MA in Art History from the University of North Texas (1996) and is currently completing a PhD in Art History at the University of Texas at Austin.