Featured Banner Image

Monday, September 22, 2014

Beyond Printmaking 4 (Oct 3 deadline)

Beyond Printmaking 4: 2015 National Juried Exhibition
Exhibition: January 17 – February 22, 2015
Submissions due: October 3, 2014

Beyond Printmaking is an art competition and exhibition organized by the Printmaking Area and Landmark Arts at Texas Tech School of Art. For more information, visit this link.

Sunday, September 21, 2014

CADD Fund - Winner Takes All! (Oct 1 deadline)

Contemporary Art Dealers of Dallas Present CADD FUNd: Winner Takes All--to be awarded to a current or previous M.A. or M.F.A. candidate

When: Sunday, November 16, 5:30 - 8:00 pm
Where: 3015 AT TRINITY GROVES, 3015 Gulden Lane, Dallas, TX 75212

Contemporary Art Dealers of Dallas will celebrate creativity and community with a Sunday Soup Supper on November 16th at 3015 at Trinity Groves. CADD FUNd: Winner Takes All will be an evening of sharing innovative ideas about potential artistic projects. CADD FUNd will make possible a high-impact idea that needs the support of the Dallas-Fort Worth arts community.

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Student Work Highlights: Screenprint

Natalya Hutchinson, Screenprint, 2014

Highlights of student work from the first project in Teaching Fellow Jon Vogt’s Screenprint class:
These first prints are made using only screen filler in combination with drawing fluid and contact paper stencils...

Friday, September 19, 2014

P.A.N.T.S photos on facebook

P.A.N.T.S' Britches be Crazy! at North Gallery
Photos of P.A.N.T.S' recent exhibition at CVAD's North Gallery, Britches be Crazy!, are posted on their Facebook group page. Here's a link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/75645964808 .

Thanks to Maria Razo and Colton Robertson for documenting the show, and to all the P.A.N.T.S officers and members who contributed to the event! 

If you'd like to get involved, check out P.A.N.T.S' Facebook page and calendar of events.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Student Work: Relief Printmaking

Relief printmaking students started the semester with big collaborative prints on fabric and alternative materials. Here’s a video of the process by one our students, Colton Robertson, and photos of the groups here.

Monday, September 15, 2014

Luke Ball & Preston Bradley Curate a National Printmaking Portfolio Exchange

Prints by Nathan Pietrykowski, Katherine Polk and Andrew Kosten
A Printmaking Portfolio Exchange Curated by Luke Ball (MFA 2015) & Preston Bradley (MFA 2015)

9/23/14 -9/26/14

CVAD North Gallery
CVAD Art Building
1201 West Mulberry Street
Denton, TX 7620

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Call for Proposals: CVAD Student Project Awards

Call for Proposals:  CVAD Student Project Awards
Deadline:  October 10, 2014

Interested students should read the guidelines for applying for one of the four categories, then contact a Studio Faculty member for mentorship.  Allow plenty of time before the deadline to prepare a strong proposal.  Recent Printmaking funding recipients include Adam Rowlett, Linda Santana, and Chris Wallace.  Categories for these Project Awards include: 

Monday, September 8, 2014

P.A.N.T.S at CVAD North Gallery

P.A.N.T.S Presents: Britches Be Crazy
CVAD North Gallery

September 16th-19th
Reception: September 18th from 5pm-8pm

CVAD North Gallery
CVAD Art Building
1201 West Mulberry Street
Denton, TX 7620

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Frogman's 2015 Summer Print Workshops - Registration is Open!

Registration for Frogman's 2015 Summer Workshops is now open!

The Frogman's Printmaking Workshops are a great opportunity to expand your knowledge of printmaking and network with printmakers from across the country. The workshops are held the first two weeks of July every summer. Artists, art students, and and art educators come together from all over the country to learn from the best of the best. The University of South Dakota hosts the workshops in Vermillion, SD. The workshops include demonstrations, visiting artist's lectures, exhibitions, an open portfolio session, and many other invigorating activities!  for more information talk to one of our many students and alumni who have participated in recent years.

UNT Prinmaking majors can earn 3-hours academic credit through a "special problems" course in the fall formalizing the experience with a series of demonstrations and presentations. If you are interested in this, please contact professor Andrew DeCaen before going to the workshops.

Friday, September 5, 2014

Ann Hamilton presentation

Ann Hamilton (courtesy the artist)
Join us for a presentation by Ann Hamilton, an internationally recognized visual artist known for large-scale multi-media installations. The format will be an artist talk with Q & A, so attendees should come prepared with questions for the artist to discuss.

What: Presentation by Ann Hamilton
When: Tuesday, October 28 at 11:00 am
Where: Lightwell, CVAD Art Building

Ann Hamilton will also deliver the Nasher Sculpture Lecture at the Nasher Sculpture Center on Tuesday, October 28 at 6:00 p.m. Tickets will be available through CVAD's Dean's office in October. Click here for Nasher Sculpture Center's announcement on Facebook, and stay tuned for more information!

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Get Funded! Workshop - Registration open

The Get Funded! Savvy Skills for Successful Funding Applications Workshop will be held on Friday, September 12th, from 1:30 to 5:00 p.m. in Willis Library room 140 (The Forum). This is a fast-paced, hands-on workshop that will prepare participants to apply for funding opportunities.

Open to CVAD and COI students. Advance registration required. See the image for details on how to register.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

500X EXPO 2014-Call for Entry

Call for Entry:  500X EXPO 2014
Submission Deadline: 9/15/2014 
This year's juror is Alison Hearst, the Assistant Curator of the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth.